Vacation Rental Blog | Villa Marketing | Management | Tips

Experts Answer Questions Free

Please leave this field empty.captcha

vacation rental website design and business makeover
  https://youtu.be/HyJGVd0sb0Q Today we're going to talk about a company that has done the unthinkable - they’ve successfully completed a head-to-toe transformation of their vacation rental business. I’m talking about a complete overhaul which included rebranding, logo design, website development, video and upgraded vacation rental listing technology - of not one but two websites, and it’s all being done at the same time. If that's not enough, we'll also be… Read More
  • Profile photo of Troy Assaly

    Nice work guys. Great tips and info for vacation rental website redesign....

    View All Comments

hurricane matthew storm florida vacation rental
A Big Storm Is Coming I’ve centered my life around the vacation rental capital of the world, Orlando Florida. I did it because this is where it all goes down in the vacation rental industry first. I do love it here! But Florida is known for more than its world-class theme parks and white sand beaches. We’re also known for being in the middle of a hurricane highway at least that's what… Read More
  • Hi Jay, I hope to see your next newsletter soon. It'll mean you're safe and up and running again. Take care of yourself and your family, Saskia...

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Jay William

    Saskia, I wanted to thank you for your concern during the hurricane. A big thank you!...

    View All Comments

listing-sites-not-paying-bookings-9flats
Warning! Vacation Rental Listing Site Not Paying Hosts For Bookings! Imagine if you were out of your money for bookings that have already came and went, how would that make you feel? 9flats is taking money from travelers and not paying the hosts of the properties. That's what David Merit of Silver Lake Suite said. David is the owner of a vacation rental property near Disneyland in California. He reached out to me… Read More
  • That is terrible for owners who are already struggling with all the changes and drop in bookings from other listjng sites. And poor travelers, this is horrible!...

    View All Comments

  • It's called a "CLIENT TRUST ACCOUNT" and I believe booking companies should fall under that law if they are based in the United States. If they don't, we all need a coordinated effort to get that legislation passed and the Association of Realtors m...

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Teena

    Thank you SO much for letting us know! Four Seasons Lodge is signed up with many "listing sites" but no booking sites as yet. I want to be in charge of accepting payments, not the sites! Great info... ! Do you know of any great niche listing sit...

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Jay William

    You're welcome Teena, I have to thank David for reaching out to us and making us aware of the issue. It's been kept pretty quite. I wanted to prevent you and others from being in this situation. Do you think the signs are pointing toward bankruptcy?...

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Jay William

    Vacations are precious - I really believe that! That's part of the reason I love what we do. So to think that someone is going to have their anticipated vacation ruined truly angers me!...

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Teena

    That's what I'm hearing in "secret" FB groups....

    View All Comments

airbnb homeaway racism online bookings
Get Ready - The Heat Is About To Get Hotter Did you notice HomeAway removed your phone number from your listing? I  recently noticed owner phone numbers were missing on the HomeAway website. A recent Skift article confirmed my suspicions. Here Is what they noticed; “HomeAway testing the removal of phone numbers from some listings to encourage online bookings" It seems as if the walls are closing in on those… Read More
  • I can see this gaining momentum since there is a social responsibility to fight racism. I'm not sure if this is planned or they are turning a problem (racism) into an opportunity, Interesting read Jay, I'm a bit nervous of what's coming next. Thanks ...

    View All Comments

  • I don't use instant booking because it's hard to keep up with the events in both of my areas and don't want to give away dates for the regular rate when you can ask much more for weeks / weekends with special events or nearby festivals going on. Ther...

    View All Comments

  • I believe home owners should always have the right to choose to whom they rent their home. I agree that they may make decisions based on what are now socially unacceptable criteria, but nonetheless, it is their perogative to decide with whom they wis...

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Jay William

    Steve I understand exactly what you're saying we all have a few quirky things we do in our businesses. We should be able to operate our businesses the way we need to. For now we can... just not on their platforms. Could something like racism fuel t...

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Jay William

    Hey Stephen thank you for commenting. That's a good point. A vacation home is a home... so in some respect we should be able to chose who we want in our home BUT a rental is also a business - does that matter? There are times when we should be abl...

    View All Comments

  • Guess the idea of putting up walls is popular these days! Any barrier between the people responsible for the day to day activities at a vacation home and the guests that want to stay there just isn't a sustainable model. If I can't communicate with...

    View All Comments

  • I'm totally agree. I had customers in the past that did horrible things to my property, I do not want to be forced to rent it again against my will. That is not discriminatory. Also why those companies want to take the control of the calendar, I want...

    View All Comments

  • That Is right MONOPOLY!! Is there something that we as a owners can do about it??...

    View All Comments

  • This is a very difficult thing. Some comments below claim that it is not discrimination to refuse rental to any renter that the owner THINKS may do damage to their property or upset the neighbours. This is actually discrimination. In business and in ...

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Jay William

    Nicely articulated Nick!...

    View All Comments

  • We’ve seen instant booking causing more trouble than good business in many cases, but racism. We welcome any race at our villa rentals. In fact, when people ask us where our clients come from, our answer is always “They’re from everywhere.” ...

    View All Comments

vacation rental content marketing psychology
  Content Marketing Is More Than A Buzzword You hear more than ever the term "content marketing" being thrown around in the vacation rental space. Content marketing is more than an advertising buzz-word. While content marketing is extremely effective (when used wisely). The truth is, there's more to it than what's being told to you. What I'm sharing with you here today is something vacation rental bloggers DO NOT want you to… Read More
  • This post was very informative and very thought provoking. Thanks Jay for sharing the secrets of the marketing trade....

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Jay William

    Glad you enjoyed it Kevin. One other thing I'd like to mention about using curiosity is that you shouldn't over do it or it will lose its ummph! I'll be sharing a few other techniques you can put in your tools box so you can mix up your strategies....

    View All Comments

10 vacation rental logo branding examples
I'm sharing the stories and strategies behind 10 vacation rental logo designs and the brands that I'm working with. When I'm working with a client we take them through a process I call - BrandStorming. In this post, I'll take you behind the scenes and show you what that process looks like. My hope is that you'll use these logos and brand strategies to draw inspiration from them and use… Read More
  • Very inspiring post Jay. Love the designs and the explanation behind their branding. It has got me thinking about my branding. I'm afraid I am missing the mark....

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Jay William

    Thank you Thomas! I'm glad it inspired you. Can't wait to show you some of the website work I've been busy with. Let me know what you think of those when I post them. If you have questions just ask. I'll be happy to steer you in the right direction. ...

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Valancy Harlow

    Thanks, Jay. We love our logo, too. Would love some other small budget, vacation rental owners ideas on how to use the logo on marketing materials. Guest gifts?...

    View All Comments

vacation rental photography tips
I'd like to introduce you to Monique. What she does with photos is nothing short of magical that's why we call her - The Photo-Magician. Presenting poor photographs is a big mistake too many of us are making. Owners and managers often overlook poor photography for being a core reason they're not getting more inquiries for their property. But finding a photographer and taking top-notch photos can come with some challenges that's… Read More
  • Jay just ordered it looking forward to working with Monique. My photos could use some of here magic. Thanks Jan...

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Jay William

    Hi Janet, we are already working on your photos for you. Check your email I just sent you a bonus :)...

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of cozymoosecabins

    So, would it be nice to share software options besides photoshop and more room tips. The before and after tips, What settings were used.. Yes - tripod impt, but no idea on changes made for other shots - filters , settings increased on decreased on wh...

    View All Comments

rate-hike
Do you remember this guy? This is Brian Sharples, President and CEO of HomeAway Inc. If you remember, Brian told us in a video that HomeAway would not charge a traveler fee, but fast forward to 2016 and what do you know? Travelers are being charged a fee. Photo provided by: http://i.ytimg.com/vi/rr93I-eNSHg/0.jpg Today we know what he told us was not true. What happened? What changed? After a company says they… Read More
  • Expedia's CEO is running HomeAway in the ground. Brian lied to us. Changing the agreement in the middle of our contracts was 100% unethical. They should know better than to have done that to their existing customers. Greedy SOB's hope the lawsuit hit...

    View All Comments

  • From 50,000 feet I think what we are seeing is striking evidence the FTC has been asleep at the switch. There is been so much consolidation in the vacation rental market I've lost track, and with that, HomeAway (Expedia) has used its acquired muscle...

    View All Comments

  • I have exclusively used HomeAway/VRBO for years and even pay extra money to TripAdvisor so that I can communicate directly with guests and they don't have to book via TripAdvisor first... I actually directly all guests inquiring to use the HomeAway ...

    View All Comments

cheap vacation rental marketing tool villa advertising resources
https://youtu.be/hp3AYfyUZfA   Can today's video help you offset the new HomeAway fees? Can it help you create a vacation rental offer that separates your property from all the others who aren’t using this? Will this $3 marketing resource make you thousands in additional booking income? Does this marketing technique dramatically increase the interest travelers have in renting from you? Only if you use it… This is the 3rd video I’ve… Read More
  • Profile photo of Scott

    Hi Jay, I just checked out this video, very good. One important question though, you said it is all in the way you present it to your inquirer. Can you give an example of how you would present it? Thanks, Scott...

    View All Comments

  • Great idea, unfortunately- restaurant.com doesn't have any restaurants in Niagara Falls....

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Jay William

    Thanks Maria, it really is a great resource and one I've used so I know it works. I wish they were available everywhere but that doesn't get you off the hook Maria :) I did a quick search and found a food offer on another website in the Niagara Fall...

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Jay William

    Hey Scott, this is a great question. Thanks for posting it. First as I mention in the video I would not refer to them as coupons. I would refer to them as dining certificates or dining vouchers. (I like certificates better) You can put this on your...

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Scott

    Thank you Jay, but don't these "certificates" have expiration dates? For instance the $3 one that you mentioned. Do you purchase them ahead of time or after someone books? I look forward to the upcoming videos....

    View All Comments

  • Profile photo of Jay William

    You should purchase them ahead when there is a really good promotion like the one I shared in the video. Take advantage of their promotions and get a little bit of stock on them. They actually do not expire. You can even swap them out for different r...

    View All Comments

I’m sharing a powerful must read article today but it's not on my website. I’m going to share someone else's website today (Read on). I’m now working with yet another industry leader. These folks are well-known for creating great content and for helping small hotel and accommodation owners with their businesses.  So when they asked me if I’d be interested in a content collaboration, centered around helping their large following… Read More

29 FREE & CHEAP TOOLS TO DEVELOP YOUR INDEPENDENCE AND BRING IN BOOKINGS!

FREE DOWNLOAD - GET THE BREAKAWAY KIT NOW - ($49 VALUE)

Don’t worry! We don’t spam :)

29 FREE & CHEAP TOOLS TO DEVELOP YOUR INDEPENDENCE AND BRING IN BOOKINGS!

FREE DOWNLOAD - GET THE BREAKAWAY KIT NOW - ($49 VALUE)

Don’t worry! We don’t spam :)